Comics! XKCD

Sunday, March 24, 2019 14/86478

Panama Canal: Once they selected the other proposal, we could have kept shopping ours around, but we would had to modify it include an aqueduct over their canal, which would be totally unreasonable.

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 14/86434

Google Trends Maps: It's early 2020. The entire country is gripped with Marco Rubio fever except for Alaska, which is freaking out. You're frantically studying up on etiquette and/or sexting.

Tuesday, March 19, 2019 14/86420

Luna 2: The flags were probably vaporized on impact, because we launched it before we had finished figuring out how to land. That makes sense from an engineering standpoint, but also feels like a metaphor.

Friday, March 15, 2019 14/86393

Space Mission Hearing: Our grant application contains one of those little greeting card speakers that plays spaceship noises when you open it.

Sunday, March 10, 2019 14/86364

Light Pollution: It's so sad how almost no one alive today can remember seeing the galactic rainbow, the insanity nebula, or the skull and glowing eyes of the Destroyer of Sagittarius.

Thursday, March 7, 2019 14/86331

Brain Hemispheres: Neurologically speaking, the LEFT hand is actually the one at the end of the RIGHT arm.

Tuesday, March 5, 2019 14/86316

Video Orientation: CIRCULAR VIDEO - PROS: Solves aspect ratio problem. CONS: Never trust anyone who talks to you from inside a circle.

Monday, March 4, 2019 14/86300

Normal Distribution: It's the NORMAL distribution, not the TANGENT distribution.

Wednesday, February 27, 2019 14/86286

Differentiation and Integration: "Symbolic integration" is when you theatrically go through the motions of finding integrals, but the actual result you get doesn't matter because it's purely symbolic.

Monday, February 25, 2019 14/86259

.NORM Normal File Format: At some point, compression becomes an aesthetic design choice. Luckily, SVG is a really flexible format, so there's no reason it can't support vector JPEG artifacts.

Sunday, February 24, 2019 14/86246

Plutonium: It's like someone briefly joined the team running the universe, introduced their idea for a cool mechanic, then left, and now everyone is stuck pretending that this wildly unbalanced dynamic makes sense.

Friday, February 22, 2019 14/86225

Launch Conditions: Though I do think the tiny vent on one of the boosters labeled "O-RING" is in poor taste.

Monday, February 18, 2019 14/86194

Physics Suppression: If physics had a mafia, I'm pretty sure the BICEP2 mess would have ended in bloodshed.

Friday, February 15, 2019 14/86157

Night Shift: Help, I set my white balance wrong and suddenly everyone is screaming at each other about whether they've been to Colorado.